Category: Kindle


Tiffinie Helmer -> Psst. I have a deal to celebrate my new series!

REEL TROUBLE is ONLY $0.99 for a very limited time!

The sale will last from March 2 until March 7!

I’m celebrating the release next week of my new series!

While you’re waiting, falling in love!


Kindle February 27, 2018

The Gamble
Colorado Mountain #1
by Kristen Ashley
Love is the greatest gamble of all…
Nina Sheridan desperately needs a timeout vacation. With a fiancé who can’t even remember how she takes her coffee, Nina wants some distance to rethink her engagement. Flying halfway around the world from England to a mountain town in Colorado should do the trick. But when she finds a gorgeous man at her rental cabin, Nina’s cold…
Best Of Jennifer Blake
by Jennifer Blake
6-in-1 Contemporary Romance BOXED SET ALERT!
From sweet to sultry—and spiced with suspense—each of these standalone reads demonstrates why Jennifer Blake has been such an enduring voice in romance for 50 years. Includes:
THE RENT-A-GROOM (a novella)

Chuck Wendig: Three Truths About Writing, And How The Writing Gets Done

Writing only gets done by getting it done.

The work is the way forward.

But what that means is…

…not chiseled in stone so much as it is swirled into pudding with an index finger. It’s in flux. Uncertain. How we do the work, and why, and when, and at what rate, is where writers really are snowflakes, each as unique as a fingerprint, or a strand of DNA, or a cat’s butthole.

(That’s true, by the way, that’s science. All cat buttholes are unique to the cat. It’s how cats catch each other at cat crimes.)

I’ve been doing this writing thing for —

Wait, hold on.

*puts on long, gray beard*

*pulls pants up so far that the waistline is hitting the nipple watermark*

*black socks and brown sandals, deployed*


Wow, sorry, I was really yelling there, huh?

Read complete article -> Three Truths About Writing, And How The Writing Gets Done

Paranormal Romantics: Is it Hot in Here or is it Me? The Science of Lust, Attraction and Attachment by L. A. Kelley

Now that Valentine’s Day has come and gone it’s time to reflect on what you learned about romance this year. Absolutely nothing, you say. Well, here’s a news flash: love is all in the chemicals.

Some of us read about romance. Others find it a fascinating study. A team of scientists led by Dr. Helen Fisher at Rutgers University has determined love has three categories: lust, attraction, and attachment. Each is characterized by its own set of hormones. Testosterone and estrogen drive lust; dopamine, norepinephrine, and serotonin create attraction; and oxytocin and vasopressin are linked to attachment.
Read complete article ->

Kindle Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone Series

Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone Series

A – O Kindle edition on sale for $2.99 ea

A is for Alibi
B is for Burglar
C is for Corpse
D is for Deadbeat
E is for Evidence
F is for Fugitive
G is for Gumshoe
H is for Homicide
I is for Innocent
J is for Judgment
K is for Killer
L is for Lawless
M is for Malice
N is for Noose
O is for Outlaw

Elissa Strati -> The Sunday Bulletin is Here: It’s Never Too Late for Love

Dear Readers~

I’m Elissa Strati (why, yes, that’s Melissa without an M!) and I’m delighted to be with you today.

Like my heroine, Melissa Ricci, in Love’s Odds, I was over forty when I found my HEA (Happily Ever After) but Melissa put her own spin on things. I, myself, didn’t know until the last chapters whom she would select as she opened her mind and heart to God and love.

Although I have worked with words most of my life, I had never published a novel, so when Melissa Storm invited me into her new Kindle World I was thrilled to have the opportunity. While the writing itself is a solitary process, I soon found myself embraced by a new family, my fellow First Street Church Authors, many of whom are already well-known. The amazing support I received pushed me to learn the new skills (Creating a cover! Formatting for Kindle! Using styles in Word!) I needed—the writing became the easy part. Brainstorming with others became one of the joys.

Elissa Strati -> Read complete article The Sunday Bulletin is Here: It’s Never Too Late for Love

P.S. I’d be tickled if you joined me on Facebook or Amazon!

(I met Elissa through Facebook via WASP page. Our mom’s did not serve together.)

Jeff Somers Barnes & Noble -> 10 Essential Life Skills Only Voracious Readers Have

Studies show that reading is beneficial in a host of ways, from helping to keep our minds sharp to reducing stress. Yet most people read at a pace true book nerd might refer to as lightly—perhaps a book or two per year. For the true reader that’s a laughable pace; truly voracious readers might finish a book a week, or one a day. Here’s the thing, though: voracious readers aren’t just entertaining themselves—they’re training themselves to be better people. Here are 10 skills only true readers possess.

Read complete article -> 10 Essential Life Skills Only Voracious Readers Have

Penelope Lively and Kamila Shamsie on Penguin Women Writers

Penelope Lively and Kamila Shamsie on the Penguin Women Writers series – classic books they’ve brought back into print to mark 100 years of votes for women

One hundred years ago, in February 1918, the Representation of the People Act was passed, beginning the inclusion of women in the UK political system. As part of the celebrations for this landmark legislation, Kamila Shamsie and Penelope Lively have each chosen two “forgotten” titles by female writers to be brought back into print as part of the new Penguin Women’s Writers series.

“The thing about women writers is that, happily, there are a great many,” says Lively, who ended up choosing lesser-known titles by well-known authors. “I very much wanted to draw attention to Mary McCarthy again; I feel that she’s rather neglected, certainly in this country. I would love to think that through this project some younger readers might come to her. Her books are extraordinarily powerful.” Birds of America, first published in 1971, is about 17-year-old Peter Levi, who is grappling with his concerns about the Vietnam war, commercialism, tourism, and the environment. “What I found so strange reading it,” Lively says, “Is how many of the issues are very much the issues of our own day; the environmentalist issue, worries about democracy and where that will lead, and being what he himself calls a guilty liberal. It’s very much a book of issues and ideas.” Lively did read Birds of America when it first came out, but she first came to McCarthy through her 1963 novel, The Group: “We all read The Group when it came out; it was very adventurous for its day and we were young women around the age of the young women in the book, so we were fascinated by their initiation into sexual life and working life. She was one of the writers we would automatically read – I wanted to revive her.”

Read complete article -> Penelope Lively and Kamila Shamsie on Penguin Women Writers

Kindle February 24, 2018

Rain Dance: Four Novels
by J.R. Rain (Author)
Bundle of FOUR #1 bestselling novels by J.R. Rain, including:

The thrilling first novel in J.R. Rain’s epic vampire mystery series! For fans of Charlaine Harris, Laurell K. Hamilton and Bella Forrest.

Six years ago federal agent Samantha Moon was the perfect wife and mother, your typical soccer mom with the minivan and suburban home. Then the unthinkable happens, an attack that changes her life forever. And forever is a very long time for a vampire.

Now working the night shift as a private investigator, Samantha is hired by Kingsley Fulcrum to investigate the murder attempt on his life, a horrific scene captured on TV and seen around the country. But as the case unfolds, Samantha discovers Kingsley isn’t exactly what he appears to be; after all, there’s a reason why he survived five shots to the head…

Written in the tradition of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser and Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe, Dark Horse introduces a new hard-hitting, wise-cracking hero with a modern twist.

When high school student Derrick Booker, the only black student at a posh Orange County high school, is accused of killing his white girlfriend, ex-college football hero and detective Jim Knighthorse is hired to dig a little deeper into the murder. It doesn’t take long for Knighthorse to realize that not all is as it seems at tranquil Huntington High, from a band director who preys on the innocent to a vice-principal with a secret agenda of her own. Not to mention someone’s hired a professional killer to keep Knighthorse permanently off the case.

As the investigation continues, Knighthorse’s personal life is shattered by the discovery of new evidence relating to his mother’s unsolved murder, a murder dating back twenty years. Reeling from the discovery, a determined Jim Knighthorse sets out to bring two killers to justice.

Allison Lopez is not your everyday Psychic Hotline operator. She’s a real psychic with real abilities that seem to grow daily, thanks to her close association with an immortal friend.

Now, as her abilities continue to grow, Allison meets a very strange woman who reveals a starling secret to her. Life, for Allison Lopez, is about to get even stranger… and more fantastic.

And when she gets a phone call from a distraught father seeking answers to his daughter’s murder, Allison finds herself in unfamiliar territory: looking for a cold-blooded killer. It will take all of Allison’s abilities, both old and new, to catch an animal who preys on the innocent. And as the case unfolds, Allison is about to discover that not all is as it seems and life still has a few tricks up its sleeve.

Ellie Matthews is the new police chief in Hope, Alaska. An experienced homicide detective, she’s running from a past that haunts her. One bullet changed her entire life and set her on a career path that collides with native lore, shape-shifter legends… and wolves.

In Ice Wolf, a hunter stumbles upon a naked body. When Ellie and her deputy retrieve the frozen corpse, he’s got a silver dagger in his chest but no ID. It’s Ellie’s first homicide case in Hope and she aims to solve it. But even stranger things happen and this murder investigation will be anything but routine. Ellie doesn’t want to believe the forensic evidence, but there’s something creepy about the John Doe victim. There’s no way that she’d walk away from this case, but maybe she should run.

The prime suspect is Alex Johnson, a bounty hunter who knows a lot more about shifters than he’s telling. But is he crying wolf? Things could get downright steamy with Ellie’s number-one suspect, who may be her only ally in town. But can this beauty trust a beastly hunk who’s under arrest?

Neal Wyatt Book Pulse: New Best Sellers

New to the Best Seller Lists

NYT Hardcover Fiction Best Sellers | NYT Hardcover Nonfiction Best Sellers | USA Today Best-Selling Books

Unraveled by Helen Hardt (Waterhouse Press)
Debuts at No.1 on the USA Today Best-Selling Books list.

Night Moves by Jonathan Kellerman (Ballantine: Random House)
Opens at No. 6 on the NYT Hardcover Fiction Best Sellers list and No. 4 on the USA Today Best-Selling Books list.

The Kremlin’s Candidate by Jason Matthews (Scribner: S. & S.)
Lands at No. 14 on both the NYT Hardcover Fiction Best Sellers list and the USA Today Best-Selling Books list.

Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress by Steven Pinker (Viking: Penguin)
Debuts at No. 2 on the NYT Hardcover Nonfiction Best Sellers list and No. 11 on the USA Today Best-Selling Books list.

Read complete newsletter -> New Best Sellers | Book Pulse